State of Texas DPS Certified School Safety Course (School Guardian Program)


This is the Texas DPS Certified School Safety Course (otherwise known as the School Guardian program),  required by the state to train and evaluate administrators and educators of a school district or open-enrollment charter school to carry defensive handguns on school campus.   This is a minimum 16 hour, two-day course as mandated by law.   

THE PREREQUISITE FOR THIS COURSE IS A VALID TEXAS LICENSE TO CARRY.  School employees who do not have a Texas License to Carry must get it before taking this course via state law.  (See our class dates to obtain a Texas License to Carry.)

Although this course was designed for teachers and school employees that are authorized to carry in their schools under the adoption of the Guardian program, it can also be taught to school teachers and employees who have a Texas License to Carry but are not authorized to carry in their school, and is beneficial due to the wealth of additional critical school safety information.
The outlined objectives are:

  • Protection of Students
  • Avoiding the Shooter
  • Situational Awareness
  • Mental Toughness
  • Tactics for Denying an Intruder entry onto a Classroom or School Facility
  • Learning how Common Classroom Items can be utilized in Defense of an Intruder
  • Methods for Increasing a License Holder’s Accuracy with a Handgun while under Duress 
  • How to Identify and Interact with First Responders

  • Day 1 (8 hours)
    Before the class starts there is a prequalification live fire exam and a written test based on the License to Carry course.
    • Pre-Qualification - 50 Rounds - Required Score 90% - Minimum Target Score of 225
    • Pre-Qualification Written Test – LTC Rules and Regulations Minimum Score 90%
    • Training from a Certified School Safety Instructor using D.P.S. curriculum
    Day 2 (8 hours)
    Final Segments of the Class
    • Scenario Training
    • Shooting under Duress Training
    • Shoot under duress 200 round live-fire proficiency using hostage targets
    • Final written exam (90% required)


    Firearm: Semi-Automatic Pistol:  .380mm caliber or above or a Revolver .38 caliber or above, plus 2 additional magazines.  Speed loaders are allowed. Optic systems that do not provide zoom capability but offer a sighting system within the optics are allowed (i.e. red dot, or holographic)

    All weapons must be clean, properly lubricated and in good working operating order for their use on the range.  All weapons will be inspected prior to use at the range.  

    Ammunition:  The Total Course calls for 250 rounds.  Please bring additional rounds in the event of malfunctions or failures.  All ammunition used must be listed on the Sporting Arms Ammunition Manufacturing institute List, (, i.e. Federal, PMC, Remington and Winchester to name a few.  No Re-Loads are permitted for Liability Reasons.  NOTE:  Many schools are wanting to purchase the ammunition from us for the course.   Pricing depends on the caliber of the firearm.  Let us know and we can provide this.  

    Protection:  Bring adequate eye protection and ear protection for the range.  Appropriate range clothing and footwear is required, long pants, closed toed shoes or boots, sneakers are fine.  Wear clothing that protects against hot brass.  No tank tops or clothing with chest exposure.  Short or long sleeve t-shirts with rounded collar are fine.  Headgear is recommended, billed baseball caps, booney hat or other.  

    This course is taught at our location in Spring, Texas near 2920 and the Grand Parkway with the shooting qualifiers at 2 local ranges.   

    The instructor can also travel to other cities in Texas to instruct the course to meet the needs of an ISD located 75 miles or more away .  Travel costs for the instructor will be required along with range fees for this option   Call for more info  

    Upon successfully passing the course, the student will receive a Texas DPS School Safety Training Completion Certificate. It should be on file at the school and a document will be filed at Texas DPS as part of the record for the School Safety Completion Course.  

    Contact us at to schedule or call (281) 541-5756.  

    Share this Product